INFORMATION FOR OUR PATIENTS IN TREATMENT

Oral Hygiene

Perfect oral hygiene is essential during orthodontic treatment. You must brush your teeth at least two minutes after each meal and before going to bed. If it is occasionally impossible for you to use your toothbrush, use a mini brush (Proxabrush®) or rinse your mouth. You must also use dental floss once per day with a floss threader or use a type of floss with stiff ends (SuperFloss®). It is worth mentioning that an electric toothbrush, especially one made by Sonicare® or Oral-B®, can prove to be very useful for patients who have trouble brushing properly with a manual toothbrush.




Diet

In order to avoid damaging braces and other orthodontic appliances as well as to minimize the risk of developing cavities, it is important to follow these recommendations:


- Avoid sticky foods, such as gum and toffee
- Avoid very hard foods, such as ice cubes, hard candy and popcorn (risk of biting on hard kernels)
- Cut or slice crunchy foods, such as raw fruits and vegetables
- Remove kernels from corn on the cob and meat from spare ribs
- Limit your sugar intake and eat sweet foods and soft drinks in moderation
- Avoid biting your nails or any object




Broken Appliance or Discomfort

True emergencies are very rare in orthodontics. Most mishaps that can happen in a treatment are relatively minor inconveniences like discomfort or a broken appliance. The procedure to follow in these cases is to contact us and inform us of the situation. In the case of any breakage or loosening, even if it does not cause any sensitivity, please let us know as soon as possible so that we can decide if an immediate appointment is required to make the repair or if it can wait until your next visit. If you are experiencing any discomfort, we will see you as soon as possible to address the problem.




FAQ for Broken Appliance or Discomfort

What should I do if my braces are chafing the inside of my mouth?

At the beginning of orthodontic treatment, minor chafing of the inside of the cheeks and/or lips can occur. This usually disappears quickly, but in the meantime, orthodontic wax can be used to improve your comfort. However, in the case of major chafing associated with an orthodontic wire poking at the back of your mouth, please contact us so that we can schedule a short visit to adjust the wire. You can temporarily cover the poking end of the wire and the adjacent bracket with a ball of wax.

What should I do if my teeth are sensitive in the days following an appointment?

It is normal for teeth to be sensitive in the first few days after braces (or any other type of orthodontic appliance) have been put on or after an adjustment. That period of discomfort usually lasts only for a few days. To minimize sensitivity at that time, you can eat softer foods and use painkillers (the type of painkiller you normally use for headaches). If you are still experiencing a lot of sensitivity after a week, call us and we will see what can be done to make you more comfortable.

What should I do if a bracket has come off?

If a bracket falls off or slides along the orthodontic wire, that means that it is not bonded to the tooth anymore. It is necessary to contact us as soon as possible so that we can decide if it is necessary to schedule a visit to bond the bracket back on the tooth. Please bring us the bracket and any other broken part at your next appointment.

What should I do if I have lost or broken my removable appliance or retainer?

Please call us without delay to schedule an appointment to repair or replace the appliance (fees may apply).

What should I do if the clinic is closed?

If our clinic is closed when minor discomfort or appliance breakage occurs, please leave us a message on our voicemail and we will call you back as soon as we return. If you are experiencing major discomfort, you can contact your family dentist so that he or she can see you in order to relieve you (without making any repair, however). If your dentist is away, you can call a dental emergency service (be aware that fees will apply when you use such a service). You can reach the Laval Dental Emergency service by dialing 450-669-9999.





back to top

LAVAL

3030 Le Carrefour Blvd., suite 502
Laval, Quebec   H7T 2P5
T   450-934-8088


JOLIETTE

405 Manseau Blvd.
Joliette, Quebec   J6E 3C9
T   450-867-7077



Contact Us

Facebook

DR. OLIVIER QUINTIN   |   ORTHODONTIST

Website by Expertmontréal  2015

INFORMATIONS POUR NOS PATIENTS EN TRAITEMENT

Hygiène dentaire

Une hygiène dentaire impeccable est primordiale durant un traitement d’orthodontie. Vous devez brosser vos dents pendant au moins deux minutes après chaque repas et avant de vous coucher. Si à un certain moment il vous est impossible de vous brosser les dents, utilisez au moins la brossette (Proxabrush®) ou rincez-vous la bouche. Vous devez également passer la soie dentaire une fois par jour à l’aide de l’enfileur de soie ou avec une soie à bout rigide (SuperFloss®). Il est à noter qu’une brosse à dents électrique, notamment de la compagnie Sonicare® ou Oral-B®, peut s’avérer très utile pour les patients ayant de la difficulté à effectuer un bon brossage avec une brosse manuelle.




Alimentation

Afin d’éviter d’endommager les broches et autres appareils orthodontiques ainsi que de minimiser le risque de formation de caries, il est important de suivre les conseils suivants:

- Éviter les aliments collants comme la gomme, la tire d’érable et les caramels
- Éviter les aliments très durs comme les glaçons, les bonbons durs et le maïs soufflé (risque de croquer des grains non éclatés)
- Couper en morceaux les aliments croquants comme les fruits et légumes crus
- Enlever les grains sur l’épi de maïs et la viande sur les côtes levées
- Limiter la consommation d’aliments sucrés comme les boissons gazeuses
- Éviter de mordiller ses ongles ou tout objet




Bris d’appareil ou inconfort

Les véritables urgences sont très rares en orthodontie. La grande majorité des pépins qui peuvent se produire durant un traitement sont des inconvénients relativement mineurs comme un bris d’appareil ou un inconfort. La marche à suivre à ce moment est de communiquer avec nous pour nous en aviser. Dans le cas de tout bris ou décollement, même si celui-ci ne cause aucune sensibilité, veuillez nous en aviser le plus tôt possible pour que nous puissions évaluer si un rendez-vous immédiat est nécessaire pour effectuer la réparation ou si celle-ci peut attendre à votre prochaine visite. Dans le cas d’un inconfort, nous pourrons vous voir rapidement pour vous soulager.




FAQ pour les bris d’appareil et les inconforts

Que faire si mes broches irritent l’intérieur de ma bouche?

Au début du traitement d’orthodontie, il arrive fréquemment qu’une irritation mineure de l’intérieur des joues ou des lèvres survienne. Ceci rentre dans l’ordre rapidement, mais entretemps, veuillez utiliser la cire orthodontique que nous vous avons fournie pour améliorer votre confort. Toutefois, dans le cas d’une irritation majeure associée à un fil orthodontique qui dépasse à l’arrière, veuillez communiquer avec nous pour que nous puissions convenir d’un moment pour ajuster le fil. Vous pouvez temporairement recouvrir d’une boule de cire le bout de fil qui dépasse et le boîtier adjacent.

Que faire si mes dents sont sensibles les jours qui suivent un rendez-vous?

Il est normal que les dents soient sensibles les premiers jours après la mise en bouche de broches (ou tout autre type d’appareil orthodontique) ou après un ajustement. Cette période d’inconfort ne dure généralement que quelques jours. Pour minimiser la sensibilité pendant ce temps, vous pouvez adopter une diète molle et utiliser un analgésique (celui que vous utilisez normalement pour un mal de tête). Si vous avez encore beaucoup de sensibilité après une semaine, veuillez nous appeler et nous pourrons évaluer ce qui peut être fait pour vous rendre plus confortable.

Que faire si un boîtier (broche) est décollé?

Si un boîtier est tombé ou glisse sur le fil orthodontique, c’est qu’il est décollé. Il faut alors communiquer avec nous rapidement pour que nous puissions évaluer s’il est nécessaire de prévoir une visite pour recoller le boîtier. Veuillez nous rapporter le boîtier et toute autre pièce d’appareil brisé ou décollé.

Que faire si j’ai perdu ou brisé mon appareil amovible?

Veuillez nous appeler sans délai pour fixer un rendez-vous pour réparer ou remplacer l’appareil (des frais peuvent être applicables).

Que faire si la clinique est fermée?

Si notre clinique est fermée lorsqu’un bris ou un inconfort mineur survient, veuillez laisser un message sur notre boîte vocale et nous vous rappellerons dès notre retour. Si vous éprouvez un inconfort majeur, veuillez communiquer avec votre dentiste de famille pour qu’il ou elle puisse vous voir pour vous soulager (mais sachez qu’il ou elle n’effectuera pas de réparation). Si votre dentiste est absent, vous pouvez faire appel à un service d’urgence dentaire (soyez toutefois avisés que des frais sont applicables lorsque vous y faites appel). Vous pouvez joindre le service Urgence dentaire de Laval en composant le 450-669-9999.





retour en haut

LAVAL

3030, boul. le Carrefour, suite 502
Laval, Québec   H7T 2P5
T   450-934-8088


JOLIETTE

405, boul. Manseau
Joliette, Québec   J6E 3C9
T   450-867-7077



Nous Joindre

Facebook

DR OLIVIER QUINTIN   |   ORTHODONTISTE

Site web par Expertmontréal  2015