FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is orthodontics?

Orthodontics is the branch of dentistry that specializes in the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of dental and facial anomalies. The technical term used to refer to this kind of problem is “malocclusion”, which means improper alignment between teeth and/or jaws. Orthodontics requires professional skills on several levels, particularly for the conception, use and control of dental corrective appliances (braces and others) to align teeth, lips and jaws in order to obtain harmonious facial balance, optimal function and excellent oral health.



What is an orthodontist? In what regard is he different from a dentist?

An orthodontist is a certified specialist in orthodontics. He must initially follow a four- to five-year university program in dentistry to become a dentist. Then, he must complete a two- to three-year full-time specialty program in orthodontics in a recognized university. Only dentists who have successfully undergone such training and passed all specialty examinations have the title of orthodontist. In addition to his advanced academic education, an orthodontist’s experience is unmatched because he practices only orthodontics, which makes him the expert for the alignment of teeth, lips and jaws.



What are the benefits of orthodontics?

- Improves smile esthetics and facial harmony, which increases self-esteem and self-confidence.
- Makes oral hygiene easier, thus decreasing the risk of cavities and gum problems.
- Promotes better chewing and also greater comfort when teeth bite together.
- Prevents tooth wear associated with an improper bite.
- Leads to better distribution of chewing forces, thus preventing additional stress on the bone that supports teeth and on jaw joints.
- Decreases the risk of injury to teeth that are flared forward.
- Corrects speech problems that are caused by improper tooth position.
- Helps to prevent abnormal development of the jaws and face in children.
- Allows optimization of other dental treatments in adults, particularly by aligning teeth before proceeding with restorations (bridges, etc.).
- Improves general health in certain cases: for example, by having a positive effect on breathing following the correction of jaw position. In this way, orthodontics can be involved in the treatment of conditions such as sleep apnea.



Do I need to be referred by a dentist to be able to get a consultation with an orthodontist?

No, it is not necessary to be referred by a dentist or another health care professional to obtain a first consultation appointment. However, we always appreciate the referrals of colleagues and, if such is the case, rest assured that we will work in close collaboration with them.



At what age should my child be evaluated by an orthodontist?

The American Association of Orthodontists recommends a first visit to the orthodontist at age 7. At that age, several adult teeth are already in place and many types of problems can already be accurately identified, some of which can worsen or lead to other problems if they are not corrected early on.



Will my child’s front teeth get straighter when his or her other adult teeth grow into place?

Severe crowding does not correct spontaneously since space available for the front teeth does not change significantly during growth. Jaws do grow in children and teenagers, but space is created at the back rather than the front to allow the adult molars to come into place.



I am an adult, is it too late for me to seek orthodontic treatment?

No one is too old to begin orthodontic treatment! Actually, more than a quarter of our patients are adults. Teeth can be aligned at any age, so it is never too late to improve your smile and optimize your oral health. Moreover, with the options available nowadays which allow treatment to be very comfortable and almost invisible, you should not hesitate to see an orthodontist for a consultation!



How can I schedule an appointment for a consultation?

If you wish to schedule an appointment for a first consultation in orthodontics with Dr. Quintin, you can reach us by telephone, by e-mail or by filling out the consultation appointment request form. We will be happy to make an appointment that suits your schedule.



How do you move teeth?

Teeth move when they receive light and continuous pressure. To obtain efficient and well-controlled dental movement, braces and other dental appliances apply a gentle pressure over a long period of time.



Do braces hurt?

Putting braces on does not cause any pain and does not require any anesthesia (needle). After an adjustment, some discomfort can sometimes be felt for a few days, but if that is the case, it can generally be well managed by taking painkillers such as Tylenol® or Advil®. Rest assured that we use techniques and appliances that apply gentle pressure on teeth in order to minimize that period of discomfort.



How long is an orthodontic treatment?

The length of orthodontic treatment depends on the specific needs of each patient. However, in most cases, treatment time can be expected to be 6 to 12 months for interceptive treatment in children and 12 to 30 months for complete treatment in teenagers and adults.



How often will I need to come for appointments during treatment?

Appointments are scheduled according to the individual needs of each patient, but the expected frequency is usually one visit every four to ten weeks.



What is the cost of orthodontic treatment?

In orthodontics, it is impossible to provide the exact cost of a treatment before having performed a consultation examination since the cost depends on several factors such as severity of the condition, anticipated length and type of appliances that will be used. Financing plans are proposed during the consultation, such as spreading payments over the whole treatment time, interest-free. Combined with reimbursement from insurance plans and income taxes, this makes it so that orthodontic treatment is easier to afford than you think! Also, do not forget that a healthy smile is an investment for life!



While I am wearing braces, are there any foods I need to avoid?

Most foods can be eaten while wearing braces, but the modification of one’s habits is required for some types of foods. Among other things, it is necessary to cut or slice crunchy foods, like raw fruits and vegetables, into smaller pieces. Certain foods must be avoided completely, especially those that are very hard or sticky, such as hard candy and toffee.



Can I continue to play sports?

It is perfectly fine to play sports while wearing braces. If it is a contact sport, it is always recommended to wear a mouth guard. With braces, it is simply necessary to frequently remould the mouth guard so that it stays well adjusted despite the changes that are taking place in the mouth.



Do I need to keep seeing my dentist?

Oral exams and cleanings are important while wearing braces, so regular check-ups at your family dentist must be maintained. Your dentist will determine the ideal frequency for cleanings during your orthodontic treatment.








back to top

LAVAL

3030 Le Carrefour Blvd., suite 502
Laval, Quebec   H7T 2P5
T   450-934-8088


JOLIETTE

405 Manseau Blvd.
Joliette, Quebec   J6E 3C9
T   450-867-7077



Contact Us

Facebook

DR. OLIVIER QUINTIN   |   ORTHODONTIST

Website by Expertmontréal  2015

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS

Qu’est-ce que l’orthodontie?

L’orthodontie est le domaine de la dentisterie qui se spécialise dans le diagnostic, la prévention et le traitement des anomalies dentaires et faciales. Le terme technique pour désigner ce genre de problème est « malocclusion », ce qui signifie un mauvais alignement entre les dents et/ou entre les mâchoires. L’orthodontie exige des compétences à plusieurs niveaux, notamment pour la conception, la pose et le contrôle d’appareils dentaires correcteurs (broches et autres) afin d’aligner les dents, les lèvres et les mâchoires de manière à obtenir un équilibre facial harmonieux, une fonction optimale et un excellent état de santé bucco-dentaire.



Qu’est-ce qu’un orthodontiste? En quoi est-il différent d’un dentiste?

Un orthodontiste est un spécialiste certifié en orthodontie. Il doit initialement compléter un programme universitaire de médecine dentaire d’une durée de 4 à 5 ans et ainsi devenir dentiste. Ensuite, il doit compléter avec succès un programme de spécialité en orthodontie dans une université reconnue d’une durée de 2 à 3 ans à temps plein. Seul un dentiste ayant réussi une telle formation peut porter le titre d’orthodontiste. En plus de sa formation académique poussée, son expérience est incomparable puisqu’il pratique uniquement l’orthodontie, ce qui fait de lui l’expert pour l’alignement des dents, des lèvres et des mâchoires.



Quels sont les bienfaits de l’orthodontie?

- Améliore le sourire et l’harmonie faciale, ce qui augmente l’estime et la confiance en soi.
- Facilite l’hygiène dentaire, diminuant ainsi le risque de carie et de maladie de gencive.
- Favorise une meilleure mastication et également un plus grand confort lorsque les dents ferment ensemble.
- Prévient l’usure dentaire associée à un mauvais emboîtement des dents.
- Entraîne une meilleure répartition des forces de mastication, évitant ainsi un stress additionnel sur l’os supportant les dents et les articulations de la mâchoire.
- Diminue le risque de blessure au niveau des dents trop avancées.
- Corrige les problèmes de prononciation dus à une mauvaise position des dents.
- Contribue à la prévention d’un développement anormal des mâchoires et du visage chez l’enfant.
- Permet d’optimiser d’autres traitements dentaires chez l’adulte, notamment en alignant les dents avant de procéder à des restaurations (ponts, etc.).
- Améliore l’état de santé général dans certains cas, notamment par un effet positif sur la respiration suite à la correction de la position des mâchoires. L’orthodontie peut ainsi être impliquée dans le traitement de conditions comme l’apnée du sommeil.



Dois-je être référé par un dentiste pour pouvoir consulter un orthodontiste?

Non, il n’est pas nécessaire d’être référé par un dentiste ou un autre professionnel de la santé pour obtenir un premier rendez-vous de consultation. Toutefois, nous apprécions toujours la référence de collègues et, lorsque tel est le cas, soyez certains que nous travaillerons en étroite collaboration avec eux.



À quel âge mon enfant devrait-il consulter un orthodontiste?

L’Association américaine des orthodontistes recommande une première visite chez l’orthodontiste à l’âge de 7 ans. À cet âge, plusieurs dents d’adulte ont déjà poussé et de nombreux problèmes peuvent déjà être identifiés efficacement, dont certains qui peuvent s’aggraver ou entraîner d’autres problèmes s’ils ne sont pas pris en charge tôt.



Les dents de devant de mon enfant vont-elles se replacer lorsque ses autres dents d’adulte vont pousser?

Un chevauchement important ne se corrige pas spontanément puisque l’espace disponible pour les dents de devant ne change pas significativement durant la croissance. Il est vrai que les mâchoires grandissent chez les enfants et les adolescents, mais l’espace se crée à l’arrière et non à l’avant, de manière à permettre l’éruption des molaires d’adulte.



Je suis un adulte, est-il trop tard pour moi pour une correction orthodontique?

Personne n’est trop vieux pour débuter un traitement d’orthodontie! D’ailleurs, plus du quart de nos patients sont des adultes. Les dents peuvent être alignées à tout âge, alors il n’est jamais trop tard pour améliorer votre sourire et optimiser votre santé bucco-dentaire. De plus, avec les options disponibles de nos jours qui permettent d’avoir un traitement confortable et presque invisible, vous ne devriez pas hésiter à consulter un orthodontiste!



Comment puis-je prendre rendez-vous pour une consultation?

Si vous désirez obtenir un rendez-vous pour une première consultation en orthodontie avec Dr Quintin, vous pouvez nous rejoindre par téléphone, par courriel ou en remplissant le formulaire de demande de rendez-vous de consultation. Nous serons heureux de vous donner un rendez-vous qui sera adapté à votre horaire.



Comment bouge-t-on les dents?

Les dents se déplacent lorsqu’elles reçoivent une force légère et constante. Pour obtenir des mouvements dentaires efficaces et contrôlés, les broches et autres appareils dentaires correcteurs appliquent donc une force douce et continue sur les dents.



Est-ce que les broches causent de la douleur?

La pose des broches et autres appareils dentaires ne cause aucune douleur et ne nécessite aucune anesthésie (piqûre). Suite à un ajustement, il peut arriver qu’un inconfort soit ressenti pendant quelques jours, mais celui-ci est généralement bien contrôlé par la prise d’analgésique tel que Tylenol® ou Advil®. Sachez que nous utilisons des techniques et appareils qui appliquent des forces douces sur les dents de manière à minimiser cette période d’inconfort.



Combien de temps dure un traitement d’orthodontie?

La durée d’un traitement d’orthodontie dépend des besoins spécifiques de chaque patient. Cependant, de manière générale, on peut s’attendre à ce qu’un traitement interceptif chez un enfant dure de 6 à 12 mois et qu’un traitement complet chez un adolescent ou un adulte dure de 12 à 30 mois.



Quelle est la fréquence des rendez-vous durant un traitement?

Les rendez-vous sont fixés selon les besoins individuels de chaque patient, mais on peut habituellement s’attendre à une fréquence d’une visite à chaque 4 à 10 semaines.



Quel est le coût d’un traitement d’orthodontie?

Il est impossible de donner le coût exact d’un traitement orthodontique avant d’avoir effectué un examen de consultation puisque le coût dépend de plusieurs facteurs dont la sévérité de la condition, la durée anticipée et les appareils utilisés. Par ailleurs, sachez que des plans de financement sont proposés lors de la consultation, comme l’étalement des paiements sans intérêt. Combiné à vos remboursements d’assurance et d’impôts, ceci fait en sorte qu’un traitement d’orthodontie est plus accessible que vous ne le croyez! Et n’oubliez pas qu’un sourire en santé est un investissement pour la vie!



Pendant que je porte des broches, y a-t-il des aliments que je dois éviter?

La majorité des aliments peuvent être mangés lorsqu’on porte des broches, mais il faut modifier nos habitudes avec certains types de nourriture. Entre autres, il est nécessaire de couper en morceaux les aliments croquants, tels que les fruits et légumes crus. Certains aliments doivent par ailleurs être évités complètement, surtout ceux qui sont très durs ou très collants, comme les bonbons durs et les caramels.



Puis-je continuer à faire du sport?

Il n’y a aucun problème à faire du sport lorsqu’on porte des broches. Si c’est un sport de contact, il est toujours recommandé de porter un protecteur buccal. Avec des broches, il suffit simplement de remouler le protecteur buccal fréquemment pour qu’il reste bien adapté malgré les changements qui ont lieu dans la bouche.



Dois-je continuer à voir mon dentiste?

Les examens dentaires et les nettoyages sont importants lorsqu’on porte des broches, alors un suivi régulier chez votre dentiste de famille doit être maintenu. Votre dentiste déterminera la fréquence idéale des rendez-vous de nettoyage pendant la durée du traitement d’orthodontie.








retour en haut

LAVAL

3030, boul. le Carrefour, suite 502
Laval, Québec   H7T 2P5
T   450-934-8088


JOLIETTE

405, boul. Manseau
Joliette, Québec   J6E 3C9
T   450-867-7077



Nous Joindre

Facebook

DR OLIVIER QUINTIN   |   ORTHODONTISTE

Site web par Expertmontréal  2015